English version

[slideshow_deploy id=’5354′]
Welcome to the Musée du Hiéron

The Musée du Hieron, designed by Parisian architect Noël Bion, has undergone a complete renovation in 2005. Built between 1890 and 1893, it features a metallic architecture inspired by Gustave Eiffel, and is one of the rare museums in France to be designed as such from the very outset. The museum is a listed French historic monument from the 19th century (Musée de France). Its seven hundred square meter exhibition space offers visitors an historical panorama of Christianity over two millenia. The Museum derives its name from the Ancient Greek term hieros – sacred or holy – and also refers the Ancient Greek hieron, a consecrated public space that served both political and religious feeling in Western Christianity.


Two of the most outstanding exhibits are the remarkably preserved 12th century Romanesque carving from the church in nearby Anzy-le-Duc, itself a listed historic monument, and the sublime Via Vitae (The Way of Life, 1894-1904) by the Parisian goldsmith and jeweller, Joseph Chaumet. Read more about this masterpiece : here.

A dialogue between the collections

The museum has a man date tradition of acquisitions and exhibitions from contemporary artists, filing the role of conservation and formory for future generations. Every year, the museum holds a new exhibition in contemporary art, yet another of the institution’s strong point as it continues to enrich and diversify its collections.

Pilgrims ?

Either individually or in groups, discover an essential place in the city of Sacred Heart … This page is for you : here 

Practical informations

• Guided visits in four languages : French, English, German, Italian. Contact Cultural mediation for more information : +33 (0)3 85 81 79 72 or by email

• Young visitors workshops

• Game booklets for children : « The Way of life. Joseph Chaumet » from 8 to 13 years old (G.B.)

• Museum Shop and Bookstore

Museum Curator
Dominique Dendraël : 03 85 81 79 72

To contact us :
Musée du Hiéron
Hôtel de Ville – BP 160 – 71604 Paray-le-Monial cedex
Tel : +33 (0)3 85 81 79 72
Fax : +33 (0)3 85 88 83 07
To contact us by email, please fill in this online form : Contact us

Opening times:
From Wednesday till Sunday, from 10 am till 12.30 am and from 2 pm till 6 pm
In July and August, every day from 10 am till 12.30 am and from 2 pm till 6 pm
Closed from January 3rd till March 19th 2022

To get to the Museum:
13, rue de la Paix
71600 Paray-le-Monial, Bourgogne du Sud
By train from Paris: 2h15 by TGV to Le Creusot Montchanin, then take the shuttle service from Le Creusot Monchanin to
Paray Le Monial railway station (ticket to be purchased along with your TGV ticket)
By road from Paris: take the RN 7, direction Nevers, then follow Mâcon
By train from Lyon: 1h15 by TER
By road from Lyon: take the A6/E15 motorway
Exit at Mâcon-Sud, then follow Charolles
Nearby car-parking facilities
The Museum is fully equipped for disabled visitors access

Summary document about museum